Scientific Council

The Scientific Council serves as a network of experts from which the National Audit Office can request opinions, comments and training in matters concerning the development and assessment of the audit, evaluation and monitoring of central government finances. The members of the council represent disciplines central to the operations of the National Audit Office.

The Scientific Council does not exercise any decision-making powers or represent the National Audit Office. The opinions of the Scientific Council are not binding on the National Audit Office and the opinions of the National Audit Office are not binding on the members of the Scientific Council.

The members of the Scientific Council must perform their expert tasks in an independent and objective manner. The composition, organisation of its work and the operating practices of the council are laid out in the decision establishing the council.

Members of the Scientific Council from 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2020

  • Mika Aaltonen, Research Director, Docent, FCG Konsultointi Oy

  • Kirsimarja Blomqvist, Professor, LUT University

  • Olli Kangas, Professor, University of Turku

  • Mika Kortelainen, Chief Researcher, VATT

  • Teija Laitinen, Professor, University of Vaasa

  • Markku Lanne, Professor, University of Helsinki

  • Satu Miettinen, Professor, University of Lapland

  • Jukka Mähönen, Professor, University of Helsinki and University of Oslo

  • Lasse Oulasvirta, Professor, TUNI

  • Jukka Pirttilä, Professor, University of Helsinki

  • Antti Ripatti, Professor, University of Helsinki